All it’s essential to know

City will compete in the UEFA Women’s Champions League for the seventh consecutive season in 2022/23.

A third-place finish in last season’s FA Women’s Super League ensured Gareth Taylor‘s side qualified for Europe’s elite Club cup competition once again.

This will be the second season of the new format, which consists of a home and away group stage, and the two-time semi-finalists will enter at Round One.

You can find out everything you need to know about the tournament, including all the key dates and our potential opponents, below…



The tournament features a 16-team group stage: four groups of four teams playing each other home and away between October and December.

Round One will be played as four-team knockout mini-tournaments with the Final winners progressing. Round Two will be two-legged knock-out ties, which will determine qualification for the group stage.

The group winners and runners-up will progress to the knock-out stages, which begin in March and are played over two legs en route to a one-off Final.

UwCL qualification

Four teams, including last year’s winners Olympique Lyonnais plus the Champions of England, France and Germany, automatically enter at the group stage.

The Champions of Spain, Sweden, Czech Republic, Denmark, Netherlands, Kazakhstan, Italy, Iceland, Norway, Scotland, Switzerland, Belarus and Austria enter into the qualifying rounds (the 12 spots decided by two routes: the Champions path of seven qualifiers and League path of five qualifiers).

The Spanish, Swedish and Czech Champions will enter in Round Two, alongside the runners-up of the six highest-ranked associations (France, Germany, England, Spain, Sweden and the Czech Republic).

Round One is comprised of the third-placed teams of those six associations (including City), and the runners-up of the next ten highest-ranked associations (Denmark, Netherlands, Kazakhstan, Italy, Iceland, Norway, Scotland, Switzerland, Belarus and Austria).

Confirmed participants

The list of participants is determined by the UEFA Women’s Association Club Coefficients at the end of the 2020/21 season.

The six highest-ranked associations (including England) have three entries, while the next ten highest-ranked associations have two entries and every other association is entitled to one entry.

Group stage:

Olympique Lyonnais (FRA)
Wolfsburg (DEU)
Chelsea (ENG)
Barcelona (ESP)

Round Two:

Rosengard (SWE)
Slavia Prague (CZE)
HB Koge (DNK)
Paris Saint-Germain (FRA)
Bayern Munich (DEU)
Arsenal (ENG)
Real Sociedad (ESP)
BK Hacken (SWE)
Sparta Prague (CZE)

Round One:

Twente (NLD)
BIIK Kazygurt (KAZ)
Juventus (ITA)
Valur (ISL)
Brann (NOR)
Glasgow Rangers (SCO)
FC Zurich (CHE)
Dinamo-BGU Minsk (BLR)
St Polten (AUT)
Apollon Limassol (CYP)
Gintra (LTU)
Spartak Subotica (SRB)
Zhytlobud-2 Kharkiv (UKR)
Benfica (POR)
SFK 2000 (BIH)
Anderlecht (BLR)
U Olympia Cluj (ROU)
Vllaznia (ALB)
Ferencvárosi TC (HUN)
Kuopion Palloseura (FIN)
ALG Spor (TUR)
Pomurje (SLV)
Split (HRV)
Shelbourne (IRL)
EP-Com Hajvalia (KOS)
Spartak Myjava (SVK)
Kiryat Gat (ISR)
Lokomotiv Stara (BGR)
Swansea City (WAL)
Flora (EST)
Breznica (MNE)
Lanchkhuti (GEO)
KÍ Klaksvík Kvinnur (FRO)
Glentoran (NI)
Birkirkara (MLT)
Maksimum Cahul (MDA)
Rigas FS (LVA)
Ljuboten (MKD)
Union FC (LUX)
Hayasa (ARM)
Lions Gibraltar (GIB)
Paris FC (FRA)
Eintracht Frankfurt (DEU)
Manchester City (ENG)
Real Madrid (ESP)
Kristianstads DFF (SWE)
Slovacko Airport (CZE)
Fortuna Hjorring (DNK)
Ajax (NLD)
Tomiris-Turan (KAZ)
Roma (ITA)
Breidablik (ISL)
Rosenborg (NOR)
Glasgow City (SCO)
Servette (CHE)
Minsk (BLR)
Sturm Graz (AUT)

Who can City face?

Sixty teams will participate in Round One. As City enter through the League path as a seeded team, we will face unseeded opponents in: Eintracht Frankfurt (DEU), Servette (CHE), Kristianstads (SWE), Sturm Graz (AUT), Slovacko (CZE), Rosenborg (NOR) , Roma (ITA) or Tomiris-Turan (KAZ).

Key dates

Round One draw: 13:00 CET, 24 June, Nyon

Round One (one-venue mini-tournaments)

Semi-finals: August 18
Final/third-place play-off: August 21

Round two draw: 13:00 CET, 1 September, Nyon

First leg: 20/21 September
Second leg: 28/29 September

Group stage draw: 13:00 CET, 3 October, Nyon

Group stage matches:

Matchday One: 19/20 October
Matchday Two: 26/27 October
Matchday Three: 23/24 November
Matchday Four: 7/8 December
Matchday Five: 15/16 December
Matchday Six: 21/22 December

Quarter-final and semi-final draw: 13:00 CET, 20 January, Nyon

Quarter-final first leg: 21/22 March
Quarter-final second leg: 29/30 March

Semi-final first leg: 22/23 April
Semi-final second leg: 29/30 April


3/4 June 2033 (TBC) at PSV Stadion, Eindhoven

City’s UWCL history

City reached the semi-finals of the tournament in our two first European campaigns, edged out at the hands of eventual competition winners Olympique Lyonnais on both occasions.

Since then, we have never managed to match that feat, falling at the first hurdle in 2018/19 and 2021/22, and the second in 2019/20. A quarter-final showing in 2020/21 was our best attempt.

How to follow City’s UWCL journey

You can follow City’s Women’s Champions League journey online at and via our official appas well as our social media platforms, including our dedicated matchday Twitter account: @ManCityWomen.


Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: